Day 82 - 84 Tbilisi

us in front of Narikala castle
us in front of Narikala castle

The capital of Georgia is a very intersting city. Its somehow a mystical mix of old and new. There is a shitload of old churches and well-dressed pedestrians will cross themselves when they pass by the church - and you are surprised by streetart on the most unexpected places. We think it might be compareable to a city in the south of Spain maybe. It has style, charm and history - and something where you couldnt quite put your finger on. Maybe its the very unique georgian way of writing, or the contrast of a strip bar next to a church - its hard to say but defiitly a cool place to spend a few days - four days to be exact.

Tbilisi is rough but soft
Tbilisi is rough but soft

The weather was on and off rain so we really enjoyed being lazy for a few days. The hostel had no guests, so we had the whole house for ourselves. Was a nice change to prepare breakfast in your own kitchen and then just chill on th couch for a bit. we also did some sightseing, went to a sulfur bathhouse and tried the local food. The big staple for example is Kachapurie which is some sort of cheesebread - sound simple but there are a lot of different versions. The basic one is just with cheese on top, but then there is Cheese inside and on top, cheese with a egg and butter on top, lasagnestyle layered cheese,,to name just a few. Good stuff. We also had some famous georgian wine and the most famous hemul-pha-jan... Seafood pancake. Well, thats not georgian - its korean - Kim was talking about korean food for days already and as there was no korean restaurant in town he decided to make his own. Good for us!

kachapuri - Georgias national dish
kachapuri - Georgias national dish

One Problem that got more and more pressing was the state of our front tires.

We changed to offroad tires in Urumqi because we planned to do some offraoding on the Pamirs - at least thats what we told ourselves. 

If we are honest we both knew that the real reason why we installed these tires was because they look more adventerous and therefore cooler.

Yeah - thats us.

We where hoping to change to proper roadtires in turkey but after checking our Tires in Georgia we had to admit that it was a real stupid idea to choose these tires.

they would not bring us any further -  we need new tires.

The even better solution that we found -"New used tires"

Now you must think - "That sounds even more stupid - used tires?!" But wait a minute.

Its actually a thing in Georgia - most cars here drive with used tires imported from germany. so we went to the Tire-and-what-not market 

and got ourselves some used Touring front tires and a cheesebread for 20 USD - not a bad deal at all.

These should bring us the next 2000 km to Turkey where we plan to buy a set of brand new roadtires.

While changing the tires Chris discovered that his front bearings also needed replacement - good thing to dicover that during a tirechange and not somewhere on a muddy mountain road in the rain.

Old tires vs. new old tires
Old tires vs. new old tires

So after we where well rested, well fed and our bikes where well maintained the sun came out again and we where ready to explore the Georgian mountains around Mestia.

In the Sulfur bathhouse
In the Sulfur bathhouse

Here are some pictures of Tbilisi sightseeing, loads of streetart

Write a comment

Comments: 8
  • #1

    Kumpulan PIN BB (Thursday, 04 February 2016 04:12)

    This article and many other on your blog are very interesting.
    I'm very interested in learning more about your site.
    Do you have a fanspage on facebook or other.?

  • #2

    Graduation Invitation Templates (Monday, 29 February 2016 09:54)

    This is my very first see below. I was so amusing stuff in your blog site, specifically its discussion. From the lots of knowledge on your write-ups, I guess I'm not the just one to have all the convenience below! Remains to function well. For a very long time I wanted to create something on my website and also I gave it a thought, please give some comment for my site

  • #3

    Free Birthday Invitations (Monday, 29 February 2016 09:59)

    This is my first visit here. I was so entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of knowledge on your articles, I guess I'm not the only one to have all the leisure here! Continues to work well. For a long time I wanted to write something on my site and I gave it a thought ...

  • #4

    Baby Shower Invitations Wording (Monday, 29 February 2016 10:13)

    This is my initial visit below. I was so entertaining things in your blog site, especially its conversation. From the tons of understanding on your articles, I presume I'm not the just one to have all the leisure here! Remains to work well. For a very long time I intended to write something on my site and I provided it a thought

  • #5

    Living Room Ideas (Thursday, 10 March 2016 07:49)

    Hello, Greetings everybody, my name Adhitya of the area. During my see on this internet site, I found numerous articles that serve, that undoubtedly I was looking before. Many thanks admin, and also everything.

  • #6

    Bridal Shower Invitation Wording (Thursday, 10 March 2016 07:57)

    Hey there, Greetings everyone, my name Rachman of the field. During my go to on this web site, I found lots of short articles that work, that without a doubt I was looking before. Many thanks admin, and even everything.

  • #7

    Birthday Decoration Ideas (Thursday, 10 March 2016 08:06)

    Hi, Greetings everyone, my name Ramona of the field. During my browse through on this internet site, I found lots of short articles that are useful, that undoubtedly I was looking previously. Thanks admin, and every little thing.

  • #8

    Solusi cepat mengobati ejakulasi dini pria (Friday, 29 July 2016 02:42)

    you post articles that are very inspiring, as on health. thank you